January 31 – February 2, 2023 | Santa Clara Convention Center | Santa Clara, CA

Vote for the 2022 Engineer of the Year

The time has come for the engineering community to cast your vote for the DesignCon 2022 Engineer of the Year. This award is given out each year during the DesignCon event and seeks to recognize the best of the best in engineering and new product advancements at the chip, board, or system level, with a special emphasis on signal integrity and power integrity.

Cast your vote to decide the winner before the deadline at noon Pacific Time on March 11. The winner will be announced at DesignCon 2022, April 5-7 at the Santa Clara Convention Center, Santa Clara, CA.

» Cast your vote for the 2022 Engineer of the Year. Voting closes at noon Pacific Time on March 11.

The four finalists for the 2022 DesignCon Engineer of the Year Award are:

Scott McMorrow
CTO, Samtec
Scott McMorrow currently serves as CTO for Samtecs Signal Integrity Group, Inc. As a consultant for years too numerous to mention, Scott has helped many companies develop high performance products, while training signal integrity engineers.

Richard Mellitz
Distinguished Engineer, Samtec
Richard Mellitz is presently a Distinguished Engineer at Samtec, supporting interconnect signal integrity and industry standards. Prior to this, he was a Principal Engineer in the Platform Engineering Group at Intel.

Steve Sandler
Founder, Picotest.com
Steve Sandler has been involved with power system engineering for more than 40 years. Steve is the founder of PICOTEST.com, a company specializing in power integrity solutions including measurement products, services, and training. Steve is a long-time and very active member of the DesignCon Technical Program Committee.

Lambert (Bert) Simonovich
Founder, Lamsim Enterprises
Lambert (Bert) Simonovich has worked at Bell Northern Research/Nortel in Ottawa Canada, where he helped pioneer several advanced technology solutions into products. In 2009, he founded Lamsim Enterprises Inc., where he continues to provide innovative signal integrity and backplane solutions as a consultant. He has authored several publications and holder of two US patents. In addition to being a senior member of IEEE, he currently serves as a member of DesignCon's Technical Program Committee, EDICon's Technical Advisory Committee and Signal Integrity Journal's Editorial Advisory Board.

Past Engineer of the Year Award Recipients

We have been pleased to honor these Engineer of the Year Award recipients

Dr. Cathy Ye Liu, distinguished engineer and director, currently heads up Broadcom SerDes architecture and modeling group. Previously she worked as R&D director and distinguished engineer in Avago/LSI which acquired Broadcom. Since 2002, she has been working on high-speed transceiver solutions. Prior to this, she developed read channel and mobile digital TV receiver solutions. Her technical interests are signal processing, FEC, and modeling in high-speed optical and electrical transceiver solutions. She has published many journal and conference papers and holds 20+ US patents.

Cathy is an active member of the DesignCon Technical Program Committee and has been a long-time co-chair for Track 09 “Measurement, Simulation & Optimization of Jitter, Noise & Timing to Minimize Errors.” Cathy has also been a member on the DesignCon Panel; "Case of the Closing Eye" for over 9 years in a row. She is very connected to the DesignCon community as an active presenter on many topics related to chip design.

For the grant, Cathy has chosen the recipient to be the Electrical and Computer Engineering department at University of California, Davis, in order “to help young engineering students to grow.“

2020: Istvan Novak

Istvan Novak has single handedly helped the test and measurement industry develop completely new instruments and methods of measurement. A Life Fellow of the IEEE with 25 patents to his name, he has authored two books on power integrity, teaches signal and power integrity courses, and maintains a popular SI/PI website. He contributes to educating and helping engineers across the world with their SI/PI problems and actively mentors new engineers in his company. Istvan offers congratulations to all the finalists, saying that any one of them could have easily won the title.

Learn more about Istvan in an interview on DesignNews.com.

2019: Vishram Pandit

Vishram Pandit's goal is simple: Share knowledge with the technical community that will one day create the CPUs for next-generation cars, phones, and servers. He is well on his way to making that happen; to date he has co-authored a book on Power Integrity for I/O Interfaces, and is co-author of approximately 30 conference and journal publications, out of which 19 were presented at DesignCon. Those papers have received 3 best paper awards and 3 finalist awards. Vishram received the 2018 Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the Signal and Power integrity field.

Learn more about Vishram in his interview with Design News.

2018: Dr. Mike Peng Li

After delivering 19 years’ worth of tutorials and technical papers at DesignCon, Mike Peng Li, Intel Corp. Fellow, says the conference has become part of him. Mike has published approximately 110 technical papers, has earned 30 patents, has been named an IEEE Fellow, and has guided thousands of engineers, scientists, and students with his books and tutorials, especially in the area of jitter.

Read an interview with Dr. Li to learn more about his exceptional career.

2017: Heidi Barnes

Heidi Barnes is well known for her ability to solve problems in the signal integrity (SI) and power integrity (PI) field for Fortune 500 companies. She was selected for the award, in part, because of her dedication to problem solving and enthusiasm for leading and collaborating with teams.

Read more about Heidi in an interview following the reception of her award.

2016: Dr. Eric Bogatin

Eric was invited to present at the first DesignCon back in 1991 and has been doing so ever since. He says that the two essential ingredients to effective teaching are understanding what is confusing to the student, and encouraging participation and engagement. To foster the latter, Eric is known, to everyone’s entertainment, for throwing chocolates out to students when they participate.