Best Paper Awards

DesignCon Paper Awards recognize outstanding contributions to the educational goals of the DesignCon program. Papers are judged both on the merits of the written document and on the quality of their presentation at DesignCon. The Awards serve to acknowledge the authors who receive them as leading practitioners in semiconductor and electronic design. The Awards also provide incentive to authors to produce high-quality DesignCon papers and present them in a lucid and compelling manner.

DesignCon Paper Award recipients are selected through a two-prong process. The first step is a review of the full-length papers accepted for the current year's program. Members of the DesignCon Technical Program Committee rank these papers based on quality, relevance, impact, originality, and commercial content, which determines the finalists for each award category. While selection as a finalist for a DesignCon Paper Award is a notable achievement in itself, winners are then chosen from the finalists based on the quality of their presentations. Presentation quality is judged based on audience feedback collected at DesignCon.

2015 Paper Award Winners


"Behavioral Modeling of Random Jitter with Realistic Time and Frequency Dependence"

Scott Wedge, Synopsys, Inc.
"Package Simulations For Mitigating Noise Coupling Onto Sensitive RF Signals"

Dmitry Fliter, CSR
Nir Malka, CSR

"Practical Method for Modeling Conductor Surface Roughness Using Close Packing of Equal Spheres"

Bert Simonovich, Lamsim Enterprises Inc.

Back to Top


"Does Skew Really Degrade SERDES Performance?"

Li Ying, Oracle
Vijay Kunda, Oracle
Shirin Farrahi, Oracle
Xun Zhang, Oracle
Gustavo Blando, Oracle
Istvan Novak, Oracle
"A Simple And Innovative Circuit Technique To Tackle Power Supply Induced Jitter In High Speed Serial Links For 25Gbps Transmission And Beyond"

Yujeong Shim, Altera Corporation
Dan Oh, Altera Corporation

"56+ Gb/s Serial Transmission using Duo-binary Signaling"

Timothy De Keulenaer, INTEC-IMEC
Jan De Geest, FCI
Johan Bauwelinck, Ghent University/iMinds
Jeffrey Sinsky, Alcatel-Lucent
Bartek Kozicki, Alcatel-Lucent

Back to Top


"Vectorless Prediction of Simultaneous Switching Noise from FPGAs"

Chunchun Sui, Missouri University of Science and Technology
"Optimization of PCB Capacitors for Signal Integrity Performance in Mixed Reference Channels"

Gerardo Romo Luevano, Qualcomm Technology Inc.
Martin Schauer, CST of America
Darryl Kostka, CST of America
Selman Ozbayat, Qualcomm Technology Inc.

Back to Top


"100 Gb/s Ethernet 100GBASE-CR4 Test Points and Test Fixtures"

Christopher DiMinico, MC Communications
Mike Sapozhnikov, Cisco Systems
Mike Resso, Keysight Technologies
"One-Sided Measurement of Power Supply Impedance Without Connectors"

Joachim Held, Siemens AG
Richard Sjiariel, CST

Back to Top

2014 Paper Award Winners

Chip-Level Design Category

“Converting Verilog/SystemVerilog to C++ for Usage with Data Flow Simulator and IBIS-AMI”

Zao Liu, Intel Corporation
Miguel Yanez, Jr.
, Intel Corporation
Torstein Molvik, Intel Corporation
Todd Bermensolo, Intel Corporation

“Measured Random Jitter in a 300 Gbit Optical Data Link using a Chip-scale FBAR Oscillator for the Reference Clock”

Richard Ruby, Avago Technologies
Andrew Seidel, Avago Technologies
Sanjeev Gupta, Avago Technologies

Back to Top

Board and System Design Category

“Power Integrity Analysis of Chip-Package-System (CPS) of a Mobile AP using Extended CPM Technique”

Kyoungchoul Koo, Samsung Electronics Inc.
Youngsoo Lee, Samsung Electronics Inc.
Woncheol Baek, Samsung Electronics Inc.

“Practical Design Considerations for Dense, High-Speed, Differential Stripline PCB Routing Related to Bends, Meanders and Jog-outs”

Michael Degerstrom, Mayo Clinic
Chad Smutzer, Mayo Clinic
Barry Gilbert, Mayo Clinic
Erik Daniel, Mayo Clinic

Back to Top

High-Speed Design Category

“The Road to 1TBps Bandwidth Systems: A Case Study”

Prathap Muthana, NVIDIA Corporation
Daehyun Chung, NVIDIA Corporation
Venkat Satagopan, NVIDIA Corporation
Daniel Lin, NVIDIA Corporation

“Modulation, Equalization, and Forward Error Correction Coding Technologies for a 56 Gbps Chip-to-Module Link”

Adam Healey, LSI Corporation
Cathy Liu, LSI Corporation

Back to Top

Interconnect Design & Test Category

“Moving Higher Data Rate Serial Links into Production - Issues & Solutions”

Donald Telian, SiGuys
Sergio Camerlo, Ericsson
Kusuma Matta, Ericsson
Michael Steinberger, SiSoft
Barry Katz, SiSoft
Walter Katz, SiSoft

“Real-Time Jitter Measurement”

Michael Schnecker, Rohde & Schwarz

Back to Top

Power and RF Design Category

“Analysis and Correlations of Supply Noise and Jitter Impact on DDR3L Memory Interface”

Jayong Koo, Intel Corporation
Jongbae Park, Intel Corporation
Almario Delos Angeles, Intel Corporation
Vishram Pandit, Intel Corporation

“Quantitative EMI Analysis of Electrical connectors Using Simulation Models”

Michael Rowlands, Molex
Alpesh Bhobe, Cisco Systems
, Inc.
Patrick Casher, Molex
Xiao Li, Cisco Systems, Inc.

Back to Top


Chip-Level Design Category

"3D Si Interposer Design and Electrical Performance Study"

Mandy (Ying) Ji, Rambus
Ming Li, Rambus
Julia Cline, Rambus
David Secker, Rambus
Kevin Cai, Rambus
John Lau, ITRI
Pei-Jer Tzeng, ITRI
Chau-Jie Zhan, ITRI
Ching-Kuan Lee, ITRI

"Applying Microwave Techniques to Digital Systems - A Simple Case Study"

Andrew Becker, Cray
Michael Higgins, Cray
Michael Steinberger, SiSoft
Paul Wildes, SiSoft

Back to Top

Board and System Design Category

"Simulating Simultaneous Switching Noise with IBIS v5.0 Models"

Romi Mayder, Xilinx
Chris Wyland, Xilinx
Bradley Brim, Cadence
Yingxin Sun, Cadence

"Analytic Solutions for Periodically Loaded Transmission Line Modeling"

Priya Pathmanathan, Intel
Paul Huray, University of South Carolina
Steve Pytel, ANSYS

Back to Top

High-Speed Design Category

"Dramatic Noise Reduction using Guard Traces with Optimized Shorting Vias"

Eric Bogatin, Bogatin Enterprises
Lambert Simonovich, Lamsim Enterprises

"Partial Response and Noise Predictive Maximum Likelihood (PRML/NPML) Equalization and Detection for High Speed Serial Link Systems"

Pervez Aziz, LSI
Cathy Ye Liu, LSI
Adam Healey, LSI

Back to Top

Interconnect Design & Test Category

"Beyond 25 Gbps: A Study of NRZ & Multi-Level Modulation in Alternative Backplane Architectures"

Adam Healey, LSI
Chad Morgan, TE Connectivity
Megha Shanbhag, TE Connectivity

"High-Throughput, High-Sensitivity Measurement of Power Supply-Induced Bounded, Uncorrelated Jitter in Time, Frequency, and Statistical Domains"

Daniel Chow, Altera
Yujeong Shim, Altera
Shishuang Sun, Altera

Back to Top

Power and RF Design Category

"Validating EMC Simulation by Measurement in Reverberation Chamber"

Xiaoxia Zhou, Cisco Systems
Jing Li, Cisco Systems
Hongmei Fan, Cisco Systems
Alpesh Bhobe, Cisco Systems
Kam Taunk, Cisco Systems
Jinghan Yu, Cisco Systems
Philippe Sochoux, Cisco Systems

"Effects of Ground Via Asymmetry on Mode Conversion for High Speed Differential Signals"

Alma Jaze, IBM
Bruce Archambeault, IBM
Sam Connor, IBM

Back to Top